Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Blog Posts by Subject: Teen and Young Adult Literature

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Eight YA Retellings of Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding is the story of a girl and a big bad wolf in the woods. Here are some retellings of the classic tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

Book Review: Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff

Make Lemonade, by National Book Award winning author Virginia Euwer Wolff, is a realistic fiction book about making sweet “lemonade” with bitter lemons. Read More ›

Growing Up Chinese-American: Books for Young Readers

When I was growing up in the ’70s there was very little in the way of books that reflected who I was—a first generation Chinese-American girl living in New York City. I read everything I could get my hands on, but I could never see myself in the books from school or in the library.Read More ›

Our Favorite New York Stories for Kids and Teens

The staff at New York Public Library love their city. Here are some books for young children, middle graders, and teens they feel deliver all the charm, mystique, and humanity that makes this place great.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Rapunzel

Rapunzel is a german fairy tale about a beautiful young maiden who has been impriosoned in a tower by an evil witch. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

#WeNeedDiverseBooks: A Few of Our Favorites

If I told you that we had diverse books at the library, what kinds of books do you think I mean? Would they have multicultural characters from different parts of the world? Who speak different languages? Who have different sexual orientations? Who have disabilities? YES to any or all of the above!Read More ›

Kingsbridge Teens Are Reading, Watching, and Enjoying…

Members of our Teen Advisory Group have been reviewing lots of books and movies this year! Here are some highlights of the reviews we've been sharing in our Teen Review Tuesday posts on Tumblr:Read More ›

NYC Teen Author Festival, March 2015

This two-day event is a terrific forum for allowing new authors to present about their work. Many authors, teachers, librarians and teens attend this event.Read More ›

My Spring Break Reading List

Lilian at Hamilton Grange shares her plan for a relaxing and book-filled spring break.Read More ›

Get to Know Jason Reynolds

On March 19, the Bronx Library Center had the honor to host Jason Reynolds. Jason is the winner of the John Steptoe Award for his book, When I Was the Greatest, and author of the critically acclaimed The Boy In the Black Suit. I had the opportunity to interview Jason after his event and learn about his writing style, fashion sensibility, and more.Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Snow White

You know that romantic tale of a young woman who runs away to the woods to escape a wicked Queen. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

Jason Reynolds Visits BLC on March 19 @4pm

March 19, 2015 will be a special day for Bronx Library Center teens! Jason Reynolds, Brooklyn-based author will honor us with a visit to talk about his latest book The Boy In The Black Suit, and his work as a writer and poet.Read More ›

20 More Realistic (and Real Life) Titles for Teens

Here are some additional recommendations for realistic (and real life) titles for teens who want to read something other than dystopian novels: Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Cinderella

You know that romantic tale of the orphaned girl with a cruel stepfamily, who later becomes the belle of the ball and finds true love after fitting into a glass slipper. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

The Legacy of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana in YA Fiction

In the rain soaked Seattle of the early '90s, grunge rock was the soundtrack to our lives and Kurt and Nirvana were at its center. Twenty one years on, his legacy continues in two recent YA books Carnival at Bray and Love Letters to the Dead. Both books examine the power of music and words to bring people together, inspire us and give us hope.Read More ›

Booktalking "The Patron Saint of Butterflies" by Cecilia Galante

The Regulation Room is simply a normal part of life on Mount Blessing to its residents. Read More ›

Booktalking "Willow" by Tonya Hegamin

Willow gets into trouble for reading anything other than the Bible... and she is also not supposed to know how to write. So she hides her diary in the woods.Read More ›
Previous Page 3 of 19 Next

Chat with a librarian now