Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Summer Reading Kickoff 2015: Superheroes!

I was excited to attend the system-wide summer reading kickoff on June 4, 2015 at the Mott Haven Library. Many staff members, parents and kids, NYPL president Tony Marx, City Council Member Andy King, graphic novelist Nathan Hale and the Mott Haven library staff turned out for this event. Read More ›

New YA from New Authors

An intersex teen, a deadly meteor, and an army of the undead… an impressive collection of writers are making their young-adult debuts with these 10 tantalizing reads.Read More ›

We Need Diverse Books at BookCon 2015

The goal of We Need Diverse Books is for diversity to become the norm by promoting "literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people." During the BookCon panel it was noted that the literary world should reflect the diversity in the world.Read More ›

Anticipation: YA Summer Releases

Can't wait for the new young-adult titles coming out this summer? Put the summer's most popular releases on hold right now and get them the moment they arrive.Read More ›

Booktalking "Life is But a Dream" by Brian James

Sabrina hears and sees things that are invisible to other people. These experiences are what drives her parents to admit her to the euphemistically named "Wellness Center." There, nurses fill her body up with pills, and the psychiatrists fill her mind with advice and talk, talk, talk.Read More ›

Booktalking "PushGirl" by Chelsie Hill

Kara Moore was a dancer: The dance studio was home to her, and she even had a Dance Mom to complete the picture. Then, Kara gets hit by a drunk driver on her way to Taco Bell.Read More ›

Hungry for Peeta? Memorable Secondary Characters in YA

Katniss wouldn't have been Katniss without her faithful companion by her side in The Hunger Games.Read More ›

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Eight YA Retellings of Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding is the story of a girl and a big bad wolf in the woods. Here are some retellings of the classic tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

Book Review: Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff

Make Lemonade, by National Book Award winning author Virginia Euwer Wolff, is a realistic fiction book about making sweet “lemonade” with bitter lemons. Read More ›

Growing Up Chinese-American: Books for Young Readers

When I was growing up in the ’70s there was very little in the way of books that reflected who I was—a first generation Chinese-American girl living in New York City. I read everything I could get my hands on, but I could never see myself in the books from school or in the library.Read More ›

Our Favorite New York Stories for Kids and Teens

The staff at New York Public Library love their city. Here are some books for young children, middle graders, and teens they feel deliver all the charm, mystique, and humanity that makes this place great.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Rapunzel

Rapunzel is a german fairy tale about a beautiful young maiden who has been impriosoned in a tower by an evil witch. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

#WeNeedDiverseBooks: A Few of Our Favorites

If I told you that we had diverse books at the library, what kinds of books do you think I mean? Would they have multicultural characters from different parts of the world? Who speak different languages? Who have different sexual orientations? Who have disabilities? YES to any or all of the above!Read More ›

Kingsbridge Teens Are Reading, Watching, and Enjoying…

Members of our Teen Advisory Group have been reviewing lots of books and movies this year! Here are some highlights of the reviews we've been sharing in our Teen Review Tuesday posts on Tumblr:Read More ›

NYC Teen Author Festival, March 2015

This two-day event is a terrific forum for allowing new authors to present about their work. Many authors, teachers, librarians and teens attend this event.Read More ›

My Spring Break Reading List

Lilian at Hamilton Grange shares her plan for a relaxing and book-filled spring break.Read More ›

Get to Know Jason Reynolds

On March 19, the Bronx Library Center had the honor to host Jason Reynolds. Jason is the winner of the John Steptoe Award for his book, When I Was the Greatest, and author of the critically acclaimed The Boy In the Black Suit. I had the opportunity to interview Jason after his event and learn about his writing style, fashion sensibility, and more.Read More ›
Previous Page 2 of 19 Next

Chat with a librarian now