Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

All units of the NYPL will be closed Friday, July 3 through Sunday, July 5

Blog Posts by Subject: Teen and Young Adult Literature

Seven New YA Nail-Biters

Teens (and us adults who love young-adult mysteries) looking for a new read this summer—do we have some picks for you! Read More ›

June 2015 Graphic Novel Guidance: The New York Four

There are only constant three things in life that have the ability to never get old, and cause everyone to gush indescribable joy: baseball, foreign cinema, and anything inside the genus of comic books/graphic novels/manga. Here, we'll help you reach nirvana by giving you a nudge in the right direction.Read More ›

New LGBTQ Picks for Teens

NYC Pride is almost here, and we're celebrating with a new crop of books for young members of the LGBTQ community.Read More ›

Transgender Books for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

Teen Summer Reading: Our Favorite (and Future Favorite) Titles!

During our last Teen Advisory Group meetings, we looked over the books on the 2015 teen summer reading lists for middle school and high school students. Then we discussed which ones we liked the best and which ones we were looking forward to reading. Check out the titles we picked, and see if you agree with us!Read More ›

Summer Reading Kickoff 2015: Superheroes!

I was excited to attend the system-wide summer reading kickoff on June 4, 2015 at the Mott Haven Library. Many staff members, parents and kids, NYPL president Tony Marx, City Council Member Andy King, graphic novelist Nathan Hale and the Mott Haven library staff turned out for this event. Read More ›

New YA from New Authors

An intersex teen, a deadly meteor, and an army of the undead… an impressive collection of writers are making their young-adult debuts with these 10 tantalizing reads.Read More ›

We Need Diverse Books at BookCon 2015

The goal of We Need Diverse Books is for diversity to become the norm by promoting "literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people." During the BookCon panel it was noted that the literary world should reflect the diversity in the world.Read More ›

Anticipation: YA Summer Releases

Can't wait for the new young-adult titles coming out this summer? Put the summer's most popular releases on hold right now and get them the moment they arrive.Read More ›

Booktalking "Life is But a Dream" by Brian James

Sabrina hears and sees things that are invisible to other people. These experiences are what drives her parents to admit her to the euphemistically named "Wellness Center." There, nurses fill her body up with pills, and the psychiatrists fill her mind with advice and talk, talk, talk.Read More ›

Booktalking "PushGirl" by Chelsie Hill

Kara Moore was a dancer: The dance studio was home to her, and she even had a Dance Mom to complete the picture. Then, Kara gets hit by a drunk driver on her way to Taco Bell.Read More ›

Hungry for Peeta? Memorable Secondary Characters in YA

Katniss wouldn't have been Katniss without her faithful companion by her side in The Hunger Games.Read More ›

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Eight YA Retellings of Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding is the story of a girl and a big bad wolf in the woods. Here are some retellings of the classic tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

Book Review: Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff

Make Lemonade, by National Book Award winning author Virginia Euwer Wolff, is a realistic fiction book about making sweet “lemonade” with bitter lemons. Read More ›

Growing Up Chinese-American: Books for Young Readers

When I was growing up in the ’70s there was very little in the way of books that reflected who I was—a first generation Chinese-American girl living in New York City. I read everything I could get my hands on, but I could never see myself in the books from school or in the library.Read More ›

Our Favorite New York Stories for Kids and Teens

The staff at New York Public Library love their city. Here are some books for young children, middle graders, and teens they feel deliver all the charm, mystique, and humanity that makes this place great.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Rapunzel

Rapunzel is a german fairy tale about a beautiful young maiden who has been impriosoned in a tower by an evil witch. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›
Page 1 of 18 Next

Chat with a librarian now