Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

The New York Public Library will be closed September 5 through September 7 in observance of Labor Day.

Blog Posts by Subject: Science Fiction and Fantasy

Summer of Steampunk

High adventure, gears and gadgets, fantastical inventions, Victorian-era settings (or not)… the rise of steampunk gives authors of young-adult fiction rich new ground to tread.Read More ›

Out of This World: Books About Interplanetary Travel

Our expert NYPL librarians recommend their favorite books about interplanetary travel.Read More ›

Open Book Night II at the Outdoor Reading Room: A Reading List

That sticky summer humidity broke just in time to give us yet another gorgeous Open Book Night at the Outdoor Reading Room this past Friday night! Patrons of all ages spent the evening reclining on the lawn, enjoying a host of great recommendations, and, for the first time in 30 years, the relaxing sound of Truth and Beauty’s waters flowing nearby. Read More ›

Eight of My Favorite Female Characters in YA Fantasy

Find your favorite female character with this list of great leading ladies.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

The Harry Potter Series: Books and Films

You can find the Harry Potter book series by acclaimed author J.K. Rowling at the library.Read More ›

Farewell Sir Pratchett, Welcome to Discworld

There is no way to accurately describe the impact Terry Pratchett and his works have made on the world. It is difficult enough to explain what they meant to me. I read my first Discworld book two years ago (Going Postal). As of this month, I have read 29 out the 40 books in the series and they have become an integral part of me.Read More ›

Quantum Leap, Do You Copy? Goodbye Leonard Nimoy

The best place to find the answers to existential, scientific, and any other deep questions you're pondering is, of course, the Library.Read More ›

Waiting for "Outlander"

Way way back, in 1990, I wandered into a Portland, Oregon bookstore and found a romance novel, set in Scotland, involving time travel and I was hooked! Since then, it’s been a 25 year odyssey of reading and waiting. Outlander finally returns to TV on April 4.Read More ›

10 Best Spock Moments in Star Trek: The Original Series

In honor of the late, great, Leonard Nimoy, here’s a list of Spock’s greatest moments. May he live long and prosper in our memories. Nimoy was a talented actor, photographer, and poet, who relished in playing the outsider, and inspired generations. Read More ›

While You Wait to See Mockingjay... More Dystopian Fiction!

Suzanne Collins's book Mockingjay has been split into two films. Here's a list of fiction titles to tide you over until Part Two comes out in November, or until you get a chance to see Part One.Read More ›

Children's Literary Salon in Retrospect: Science Fiction on January 3, 2015

Authors and librarians weighed in on the subject of sci-fi in children's books at the event earlier this month.Read More ›

We Know You Love to Talk About Books: Announcing the 2015 Reader's Den Online Book Discussion Schedule

Are you making your New Year's Resolutions? Is one of them to read more or to connect more with other readers? We would love to see you in the Reader's Den, NYPL's online book discussion, in 2015! Read More ›

December Reader's Den: Consider Phlebas Part 3

Considering the scale of destruction wrought in a galaxy-wide war, can either civilization fit Horza's bill as being on the side of life?Read More ›

December Reader's Den: Consider Phlebas Part 2

This week I'd like to delve into the character of Horza, why he is nearly fanatical in his pursuit of the missing Mind and what you think makes him tick. Read More ›

Six YA Fantasy Books About Dragons

"Here be Dragons" in these book series by Melissa de la Cruz, Michael Johnston, Mari Mancusi, Sophie Jordan, Garth Nix, Carrie Vaughn, and Julie Kagawa.Read More ›

Best Books for Teens 2014!

The list includes a selection of 25 novels, non-fiction books, and graphic novels chosen by a committee of Young Adult librarians who work with teens in NYPL’s neighborhood branches. Read More ›

Eight Underrated Young Adult Fantasy Series

Fins, The Syrena Legacy, Lumatere Chronicles and more.Read More ›

Page-Turners for All Tastes

Our reader asked us to recommend a good page turner for a long plane ride. Here are some titles you will want to read in one sitting from a variety of genres.Read More ›

Spotlight on Author Alyson Noël

Alyson Noël has written multiple book series. One of her bestselling series is The Immortals Series. Read More ›
Page 1 of 9 Next

Chat with a librarian now