Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts from Mulberry Street Library

So You've Read "Paper Towns," Now What?

Here are other books filled with friends, road trips, elusive and mysterious dream girls (and dream boys) who force us out of our comfort zones and universal truths about life, love and living in the moment.Read More ›

Meet the Artists: Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein

Mulberry Street Library is proud to host a one-of-a-kind art exhibit: Reflections: Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein. Mother and daughter Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein love to draw, paint, take photos and visit museums together.Read More ›

Reader's Den: Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, Week 2

Welcome to the second week of July's Reader's Den. In keeping with this year's theme of Superheroes, we're taking on a different approach: seeing a 'hero' from multiple perspectives. Read More ›

Celebrating the ADA

We asked our expert NYPL staff, “What’s your favorite book that features a protagonist with a disability, and why do you like it?”Read More ›

Mystery Without End... Literally

Raymond Chandler famously said, “The ideal mystery is one you would read even if the end is missing.” In honor of his birthday this week, we asked our librarian experts to name mysteries they’d read even if there were no endings—books so compelling, with such great characters or such an evocative setting, that the story itself is just a bonus.Read More ›

Reader's Den: Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, Week 1

On the heels of the Fourth of July, we will be discussing Karen Abbott's book Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy.Read More ›

Can You Grok This? Stories of Strangers in a Strange Land, Part 2

In Heinlein’s honor, we asked our NYPL librarians: What are some other books that speak to displacement—of being a stranger in a strange land?Read More ›

Can You Grok This? Stories of Strangers in a Strange Land, Part 1

In honor of Robert Heinlein's birthday, we asked our NYPL librarians: What are some other books that speak to displacement—of being a stranger in a strange land?Read More ›

Transgender Books for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

Meet the Artist: David Penner

On view now through June 29, 2015 in the Community Room of Mulberry Street Library are the photographs of David Penner.This series he is presenting is called "Manhattan Pairs" and features portraits of pairs of people in various NYC locales. I spoke with David recently about his photography.Read More ›

Librarians on ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Personal reflections on Harper Lee's first (and until now, only) novel.Read More ›

A Summer of "Rogues" and Romance

If you’re Regency romance fan and have yet to read a Company of Rogues novel by Jo Beverley, then boy do I have a summer challenge/project for you! Read More ›

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Cooking the Books: Spring 2015 Edition

This Spring, everything is coming up foodie! Here is a list of recent books on cooking and eating.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

Waiting for "Downton Abbey" 2015!

It’s going to be rough wait, but we will do it together and somehow find other books and films to fill the Downton-sized hole in our hearts.Read More ›

Waiting for "Outlander"

Way way back, in 1990, I wandered into a Portland, Oregon bookstore and found a romance novel, set in Scotland, involving time travel and I was hooked! Since then, it’s been a 25 year odyssey of reading and waiting. Outlander finally returns to TV on April 4.Read More ›

The Legacy of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana in YA Fiction

In the rain soaked Seattle of the early '90s, grunge rock was the soundtrack to our lives and Kurt and Nirvana were at its center. Twenty one years on, his legacy continues in two recent YA books Carnival at Bray and Love Letters to the Dead. Both books examine the power of music and words to bring people together, inspire us and give us hope.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Karl Lorenzen

On view at the Mulberry Street Library through February 28, 2015 are the delicate drawings and cutouts on paper by artist and teacher Karl Lorenzen. I spoke with the artist about his work. Read More ›
Page 1 of 8 Next

Chat with a librarian now