Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts from Mulberry Street Library

A Little Light Bibliotherapy

We asked our expert NYPL staff members to recommend books that helped them stay sane and navigate life in Gotham.Read More ›

Readers Den: Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy: Interview and Wrap Up

Welcome back to the Reader's Den as we wrap up July's book. I hope you have enjoyed Karen Abbott's book Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy as much as I have. I talked to the author about what she likes to read (when she's not busy writing!)Read More ›

Beyond Bond

We asked library staff to investigate Ian Fleming's legacy and go “beyond Bond”—to pick out other books starring secret agents.Read More ›

10 New YA Romances That Will Give You Feels

I've rated the following books by the amount of swooning involved and the magnitude of life lessons.Read More ›

Out of This World: Books About Interplanetary Travel

Our expert NYPL librarians recommend their favorite books about interplanetary travel.Read More ›

So You've Read "Paper Towns," Now What?

Here are other books filled with friends, road trips, elusive and mysterious dream girls (and dream boys) who force us out of our comfort zones and universal truths about life, love and living in the moment.Read More ›

Meet the Artists: Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein

Mulberry Street Library is proud to host a one-of-a-kind art exhibit: Reflections: Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein. Mother and daughter Rebecca and Sasha Rubenstein love to draw, paint, take photos and visit museums together.Read More ›

Reader's Den: Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, Week 2

Welcome to the second week of July's Reader's Den. In keeping with this year's theme of Superheroes, we're taking on a different approach: seeing a 'hero' from multiple perspectives. Read More ›

Celebrating the ADA

We asked our expert NYPL staff, “What’s your favorite book that features a protagonist with a disability, and why do you like it?”Read More ›

Mystery Without End... Literally

Raymond Chandler famously said, “The ideal mystery is one you would read even if the end is missing.” In honor of his birthday this week, we asked our librarian experts to name mysteries they’d read even if there were no endings—books so compelling, with such great characters or such an evocative setting, that the story itself is just a bonus.Read More ›

Reader's Den: Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, Week 1

On the heels of the Fourth of July, we will be discussing Karen Abbott's book Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy.Read More ›

Can You Grok This? Stories of Strangers in a Strange Land, Part 2

In Heinlein’s honor, we asked our NYPL librarians: What are some other books that speak to displacement—of being a stranger in a strange land?Read More ›

Can You Grok This? Stories of Strangers in a Strange Land, Part 1

In honor of Robert Heinlein's birthday, we asked our NYPL librarians: What are some other books that speak to displacement—of being a stranger in a strange land?Read More ›

Transgender Books for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

Meet the Artist: David Penner

On view now through June 29, 2015 in the Community Room of Mulberry Street Library are the photographs of David Penner.This series he is presenting is called "Manhattan Pairs" and features portraits of pairs of people in various NYC locales. I spoke with David recently about his photography.Read More ›

Librarians on ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Personal reflections on Harper Lee's first (and until now, only) novel.Read More ›

A Summer of "Rogues" and Romance

If you’re Regency romance fan and have yet to read a Company of Rogues novel by Jo Beverley, then boy do I have a summer challenge/project for you! Read More ›

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Cooking the Books: Spring 2015 Edition

This Spring, everything is coming up foodie! Here is a list of recent books on cooking and eating.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›
Page 1 of 9 Next

Chat with a librarian now