Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts from Mulberry Street Library

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Cooking the Books: Spring 2015 Edition

This Spring, everything is coming up foodie! Here is a list of recent books on cooking and eating.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

Waiting for "Downton Abbey" 2015!

It’s going to be rough wait, but we will do it together and somehow find other books and films to fill the Downton-sized hole in our hearts.Read More ›

Waiting for "Outlander"

Way way back, in 1990, I wandered into a Portland, Oregon bookstore and found a romance novel, set in Scotland, involving time travel and I was hooked! Since then, it’s been a 25 year odyssey of reading and waiting. Outlander finally returns to TV on April 4.Read More ›

The Legacy of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana in YA Fiction

In the rain soaked Seattle of the early '90s, grunge rock was the soundtrack to our lives and Kurt and Nirvana were at its center. Twenty one years on, his legacy continues in two recent YA books Carnival at Bray and Love Letters to the Dead. Both books examine the power of music and words to bring people together, inspire us and give us hope.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Karl Lorenzen

On view at the Mulberry Street Library through February 28, 2015 are the delicate drawings and cutouts on paper by artist and teacher Karl Lorenzen. I spoke with the artist about his work. Read More ›

Thrills, Chills and Romance: The New Gothic Genre

Do you shiver at the thought of winds whistling down the Yorkshire moors and waves crashing against the Cornish coast? Wrap yourself up in one of these cozy gothic romance titles.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Hsaio-Chi Chang

On view at the Mulberry Street Library on the Children's Floor are the whimsical illustrations of artist Hsaio-Chi Chang. Her work references known classics such as The Little Prince, as well as her own vivid imaginarium of characters inspired by animals and dreams. I spoke with the artist recently about her work. Read More ›

Cooking the Books: A Year in Dishes

As the days of the year count down, and the numbers on the bathroom scale go up post-holiday feasting, I wanted to take a moment to reflect on some of the delectable and sumptuous cookbooks I've encountered this year. Read More ›

We Know You Love to Talk About Books: Announcing the 2015 Reader's Den Online Book Discussion Schedule

Are you making your New Year's Resolutions? Is one of them to read more or to connect more with other readers? We would love to see you in the Reader's Den, NYPL's online book discussion, in 2015! Read More ›

The Legacy of Walter Dean Myers

What made Walter Dean Myers stand out was his tireless belief that the telling and reading of all kinds of stories mattered, that teens mattered, communities and families mattered, and that libraries and librarians mattered.Read More ›

A Sucker for Romance: 2014 YA Books Guaranteed to Make You Swoon!

Romance titles that didn't make our Top 25, but that will still make your heart go pitter-pat.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Evan Chamberlain

On view at the Mulberry Street Library are two glass works by Brooklyn-based artist Evan Chamberlain.Read More ›

Four by One Direction: A Track by Track (Sort of) Review

A track by track review of their new album, by a “1D AF.”Read More ›

Artist Q&A: Ner Beck’s NYC Found Faces & Window Reflections

We welcome back Ner Beck to the Mulberry Street Branch of the New York Public Library for his exhibit NYC Found Faces & Window Reflections, on view through November 5th, 2014.Read More ›

August Reader's Den: The Circle by Dave Eggers, Part II

Welcome to Part II of August in the Reader’s Den. We have been discussing Dave Egger’s novel about a monomaniacal digital corporation called The Circle. Our protagonist, Mae Holland, has grown ever more fervently to believe in the positive social impact of ‘completing’ the Circle. Read More ›

August Reader's Den: The Circle by Dave Eggers, Part I

Welcome to August in the Reader's Den! This month we will be discussing Dave Egger's novel The Circle, about an all too familiar social media mega-corporation (called The Circle) that is slowly but surely invading every single aspect of our daily lives. The central theme posits—do we even have a right to privacy anymore? What if we were forced to share the details of our private lives with everyone, and would it make for a more open and just society? Or just the opposite... Read More ›

July Reader's Den: "Of Dice and Men: The Story of Dungeons & Dragons and the People Who Play It" by David Ewalt - Wrap Up

Hello and welcome to the wrap up of Of Dice and Men: The Story of Dungeons & Dragons and the People Who Play It by David M. Ewalt. I hope you enjoy or are enjoying the book as much as I have. If you have any comments or questions please feel free to write below. For August the book is The Circle by David Eggers.Read More ›
Page 1 of 8 Next

Chat with a librarian now