Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

All units of the NYPL will be closed Friday, July 3 through Sunday, July 5

Posts from Mulberry Street Library

Transgender Books for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

Meet the Artist: David Penner

On view now through June 29, 2015 in the Community Room of Mulberry Street Library are the photographs of David Penner.This series he is presenting is called "Manhattan Pairs" and features portraits of pairs of people in various NYC locales. I spoke with David recently about his photography.Read More ›

Librarians on ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Personal reflections on Harper Lee's first (and until now, only) novel.Read More ›

A Summer of "Rogues" and Romance

If you’re Regency romance fan and have yet to read a Company of Rogues novel by Jo Beverley, then boy do I have a summer challenge/project for you! Read More ›

Books for the Twenty-Somethings

Can you recommend any books with female protagonists who are in their early to mid-20s?Read More ›

Cooking the Books: Spring 2015 Edition

This Spring, everything is coming up foodie! Here is a list of recent books on cooking and eating.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

Waiting for "Downton Abbey" 2015!

It’s going to be rough wait, but we will do it together and somehow find other books and films to fill the Downton-sized hole in our hearts.Read More ›

Waiting for "Outlander"

Way way back, in 1990, I wandered into a Portland, Oregon bookstore and found a romance novel, set in Scotland, involving time travel and I was hooked! Since then, it’s been a 25 year odyssey of reading and waiting. Outlander finally returns to TV on April 4.Read More ›

The Legacy of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana in YA Fiction

In the rain soaked Seattle of the early '90s, grunge rock was the soundtrack to our lives and Kurt and Nirvana were at its center. Twenty one years on, his legacy continues in two recent YA books Carnival at Bray and Love Letters to the Dead. Both books examine the power of music and words to bring people together, inspire us and give us hope.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Karl Lorenzen

On view at the Mulberry Street Library through February 28, 2015 are the delicate drawings and cutouts on paper by artist and teacher Karl Lorenzen. I spoke with the artist about his work. Read More ›

Thrills, Chills and Romance: The New Gothic Genre

Do you shiver at the thought of winds whistling down the Yorkshire moors and waves crashing against the Cornish coast? Wrap yourself up in one of these cozy gothic romance titles.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Hsaio-Chi Chang

On view at the Mulberry Street Library on the Children's Floor are the whimsical illustrations of artist Hsaio-Chi Chang. Her work references known classics such as The Little Prince, as well as her own vivid imaginarium of characters inspired by animals and dreams. I spoke with the artist recently about her work. Read More ›

Cooking the Books: A Year in Dishes

As the days of the year count down, and the numbers on the bathroom scale go up post-holiday feasting, I wanted to take a moment to reflect on some of the delectable and sumptuous cookbooks I've encountered this year. Read More ›

We Know You Love to Talk About Books: Announcing the 2015 Reader's Den Online Book Discussion Schedule

Are you making your New Year's Resolutions? Is one of them to read more or to connect more with other readers? We would love to see you in the Reader's Den, NYPL's online book discussion, in 2015! Read More ›

The Legacy of Walter Dean Myers

What made Walter Dean Myers stand out was his tireless belief that the telling and reading of all kinds of stories mattered, that teens mattered, communities and families mattered, and that libraries and librarians mattered.Read More ›

A Sucker for Romance: 2014 YA Books Guaranteed to Make You Swoon!

Romance titles that didn't make our Top 25, but that will still make your heart go pitter-pat.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Evan Chamberlain

On view at the Mulberry Street Library are two glass works by Brooklyn-based artist Evan Chamberlain.Read More ›

Four by One Direction: A Track by Track (Sort of) Review

A track by track review of their new album, by a “1D AF.”Read More ›
Page 1 of 8 Next

Chat with a librarian now