Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Stuff for the Teen Age

Highlight from the Stuff for the Teen Age 2010 List: Strange Angels

Share

Fans of Supernatural or Buffy, the Vampire Slayer, meet Dru:

What if Buffy had to fight vamps and other monsters without the help of Giles and her seemingly super healing powers? What if the Winchester brothers weren’t searching for their demon-hunting father, just for the monster who turned him into a zombie?

16-year-old Dru Anderson moved from sunny Florida to North Dakota in the dead of winter because her father said they had to. Dru has a gift for recognizing the paranormal and her father has the weapons and the skills to destroy the vampires, wulfen and other dark creatures that prey on humans. When her dad returns home from a night of hunting, turned into a zombie determined to get her, Dru must destroy him and make her escape, but she has no car, almost no money and no place to hide and it’s in the middle of a snowstorm.

But, like Buffy had the Scooby gang, Dru finds that she does have allies who will help her. The first is Graves, a Goth boy from school, who gives her a place to hide in an abandoned office at the mall, and Christophe, who says he is his guardian angel but looks more like a vampire to Dru.

Maybe if vampires, werewolves and other nasty creatures really exist than guardian angels can, too. Even if they are strange. 

Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow appears on the Stuff for the Teen Age 2010 List.

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

Post new comment