The 115th Street branch of The New York Public Library dates to 1908 and was built with funds donated by Andrew Carnegie. Over the past century, the library has evolved into a focal point of community activity, learning and artistic production.
The three-floor building has a distinctive façade and an enduring elegance that has been called “uncommonly rugged and handsome” by the New York City landmarks book. Designed by McKim, Mead & White in a “rusticated Italian palazzo style,” the building was designated a city landmark in 1967 and a national landmark in 1980.
This old-soul library features public computers that can be reserved for 45-minute sessions. Materials for adults and teenagers are located on the main floor, where the library is furnished with lovely wooden display cases positioned along the wall. The children's room is located on the second floor. On the third floor is a community space that is used for Out of School Time programs during the school year.